The 16 hour course is required for individuals who have no prior course
work credit as listed on the
FAQ page.  For most individuals, this required
course is the first step to obtain your Concealed Carry License (CCL).

What the 16 hour full course will cover:

State and Federal laws related to the ownership, storage, transport and
carrying of a firearm.

  • Firearm Safety
Basic firearm handling safety rules
Home storage
Vehicle storage
Public storage

  • Basic Principles of Marksmanship
Sight Alignment
Sight Picture
Trigger Control

  • Care, Cleaning, loading, and unloading of a concealable firearm
Gun identification: revolver/semi-automatic
Ammunition identification and selection
Safety and cleaning protocols
Cleaning equipment
Loading and unloading

  • All applicable State and Federal Laws relating to the ownership,
    storage, carry, and transportation of a firearm.  The act in its entirety
    with emphasis on the following:

Appropriate and lawful interaction with law enforcement while
transporting or carrying a concealed firearm.
Instruction on prohibited areas and the parking lot exemption.
The FOID act
Relevant portions of IL-CCW including but not limited to:

-      720 ILCS 5/71. Use of force in defense of a person.

-      720 ILCS 5/7-2. Use of force in defense of dwelling.

-      720 ILCS 5/7-3 Use of force in defense of other property.

-      720 ILCS 24/1 Unlawful use of Weapons.

  • Weapon Handling
Handgun fundamentals
Handgun concealment
Live fire qualification instruction

  • Live fire qualification with a concealable firearm consisting of
    minimum of 30 rounds which must include 10 rounds from a distance of
    5 yards; 10 rounds from a distance of 7 yards; and 10 rounds from a
    distance of 10 yards at a B-27 silhouette target approved by the
    Illinois State Police.               

For your first class visit to IPAC, bring your identification and payment
only.  For your second class visit to IPAC, you are invited to bring your
unloaded firearm (no ammunition allowed) for training purposes.  If you do
not have a firearm, you may use one of our models at no additional charge.

Under no circumstances will ammunition of any type or kind be allowed
during the classroom portion of the course.  Violation of this rule will be
grounds for immediate dismissal and forfeit of all fees paid.

A combined 70% accuracy rate is required for a passing grade in the live
fire qualification.

If a passing grade is not obtained on the first attempt, this phase of the
qualification may be reattempted, up to 2 additional times.  Additional
ammunition expense will be incurred.

If you bring your firearm, please come to the range with your firearm
unloaded, locked in its case, with ammunition carried separately.  Please
note, however, that not all calibers may be available so you are strongly
encouraged to bring ammunition with you for your firearm.  Firearms can be
provided along with ammunition.
Concealed Carry Courses

Concealed Carry Courses

A right not exercised is a right denied.
NRA Membership
Copyright Illinois Protect and
Conceal. All rights reserved.

Privacy Statement: any and all
information provided to
Illinois Protect and Conceal
for purposes of any service it
provides will remain
confidential.  Your
information is never shared.
A well regulated
militia, being
necessary to the
security of a
free state, right
of the people to
keep and bear
arms, shall not
be infringed.

How To Register With Us:

Classes start at 10AM. Please contact us at 847-975-4355 and we will be happy to speak with you if you have any questions and to schedule your class. Our doors open 5 minutes prior to your scheduled class. We are conveniently located near the CTA blue line with easy access to public transportation. We are 2 minutes from the Northwest Suburbs and there is plenty of free street parking. Classes fill up quickly, so give us a call or stop by today!